The pandas team - ZooParc de Beauval

The pandas team

An old Chinese saying tells
« This is not the aim of the stroll that is important but the small steps that leads there ».

The birth of a baby panda is always a great source of joy. It rewards the efforts of all for the species preservation. Nowadays, the panda is classified as an endangered species. The way to succeed is scattered with hope, doubts and mostly great moments of emotion when the happy occasion finally arrives. This would be a premiere for the only couple of pandas living in France in the ZooParc de Beauval since 2012.

With only one mating period a year that only lasts for 48 hours, births among pandas are very rare. With proven experience from last years, Beauval settled a team fully dedicated to Huan Huan and Yuan Zi. Together, they form the « PANDAS TEAM » !

Step by step, all our specialists are already in action. Daily, hour by hour: they pamper our couple of giant pandas by making sure to respect nature and wellness of our animals. The beautiful and great saga of our pandas in Beauval continues with the “Panda Team” for a new and surprising season 2017. The « PANDAS TEAM » is already in action.

Discover all the members of the « PANDAS TEAM » !

The main operators

Yuan Zi - Panda - ZooParc de Beauval
Yuan Zi
Giant panda, male

Born on September 6th 2008, at the Chengdu base in China, it has the same age as Huan Huan, 8 years old! Yuan Zi, our male panda, is “the son of the one who has a rounded head”. The name Yuan Yuan was given to its mother because its head is very “yuan”, meaning very “round”, Zi meaning “son” in Chinese. Yuan Zi, the aptly named, is constantly photographed. Very nice to its carers and bon vivant, Yuan Zi eats 30 to 40kg of bamboo daily!

Meet Yuan Zi

Huan Huan - Panda - ZooParc de Beauval
Huan Huan
Giant panda, female

Huan Huan was born on August 10th 2008, at the Chengdu base in China. As a wink to the Olympic Games of Beijing, among the babies of the center, 5 were named: Bei Bei, Jing Jing, Ying Ying and Ni Ni according the welcome sentence of the OG: “Bei Jing Huan Ying Ni” that means “Beijing is happy to welcome you”. Huan Huan is one the 5 babies and its name means “welcome” and “great joy”. Huan Huan, our female panda, is a great star. Used to the cameras, it makes the enjoyment of young and old alike, at Beauval and on the screen!

Meet Huan Huan

La Team Pandas - ZooParc de Beauval

The other operators

Rodolphe Delord - Directeur - ZooParc de Beauval
Rodolphe
General Manager

Animal lover since his earliest childhood, Rodolphe decided to quit school at 16 in order to join his mother and support her into the Beauval adventure. As a builder, Rodolphe works to extend the site with the aim of welcoming a great diversity of  animal species. He is also president of the Beauval Nature association as well as  the French Association of The Zoological Parks .

The birth of a panda at ZooParc de Beauval would be a strong symbol. It would be a great reward for the huge work undertaken with our Chinese partners on the preservation of the species. It would be a great joy for us and our teams and of course for our visitors themselves who are waiting for this birth too!

Eric - Directeur de la conservation - ZooParc de Beauval
Eric
Sciences manager, Collection and Conservation

Former Zoological Manager at Lisbon Zoo, Eric is since 2008, in charge of the animals collection management of  the ZooParc de Beauval. As Conservation Director for Beauval Nature Association, he works on numerous conservation programs all over the world including pandas.

The birth of babies pandas in Beauval is the consequence of  a program we began in 2005 and will contribute to conserve this species. Any birth embodies hope to preserve this unique animal for future generation  and symbolizes worldwide biodiversity conservation

Baptiste - Vétérinaire - ZooParc de Beauval
Baptiste
Veterinarian Manager and Research Director

National Veterinarian School of Alfort graduate, Baptiste joined the Beauval adventure in 2004. He manages the veterinarian sector since 2014. Research Director at Beauval Nature Association, he is also a European consultant veterinarian for the Queensland Koala international breeding program and Persian Leopard European Breeding Program (EEP).

The dosages we made during the reproduction period of the female panda still are rarely-seen in the world but they  bring new knowledge to determine more precisely if there were fertilization then implantation. This year, the comparisons with all the 2016’s datas will be a precious advantage .

Antoine - Vétérinaire - ZooParc de Beauval
Antoine
Veterinarian

Since 2014, Antoine practices as a veterinarian at the ZooParc de Beauval. National Veterinarian School of Alfort graduate. He is also European consultant veterinarian for the European Black Lemur and Greater Kudu breeding program (EEP). Antoine ensures the mission of secretary for French Speaking Zoological Parks Association.

It’s such a chance to work  with this species living in only 5 zoological institutions in Europe ! Panda’s births are extremely rare and leave its mark on a veterinarian career.

Delphine - Soigneuse Animalière - ZooParc de Beauval
Delphine
Head of the Pandas sector

In 2002, Delphine enters the animal service within the sector of the sea lion show and big cats. After several years at the koalas sector, she became responsible of it. Delphine nowadays manages a team of 7 people that take care of a diversity of species including the couple of pandas.

Everyday our animals surprise us. We learn a lot from them! With the pandas, we are proud to participate to the conservation project of the vulnerable species.

Astrid - Soigneuse Animalière - ZooParc de Beauval
Astrid
Panda keeper

After 3 years of medicine school and a bachelor degree in biology of ecology and evolution of the populations, Astrid headed towards the animal world. Graduated from the carers school of Vendôme, she started in 2010 at the koalas sector of Beauval. She became the assistant of Delphine in 2013.

I like working with the pandas because it is a complex animal that we barely know for yet. It is motivating to share with fellow carers from other European zoological parks, always in order to improve the everyday life of the animals and particularly of this endangered species.

Wang - - ZooParc de Beauval
Harry
Researcher specialized into the reproduction of the pandas

A native of the Chinese province of Hubei, Harry is since 2008 researcher in breeding and nutrition at the famous « Chengdu Research Base of Giant Panda ». Every year, he follows the reproduction period of the 30 females pandas of the center. He steps in at Beauval to bring its expertise and precious advice to the Panda Team.

I think that the behavior of Huan Huan is very good and the interaction with Yuan Zi is good. In my work, it is necessary to be precise because the female panda is fertile only a few hours every year.

Sophie - Etudiante ethologue - ZooParc de Beauval
Sophie
Student in Master Degree of Ethology

Sophie is a student in second year of Master Degree of Applied Ethology at the University of Paris 13. For her university thesis, she studies the behavior of Huan Huan during a reproduction and gestation period. Sophie spends her days to register the lower comings and goings of the pandas.

I am very proud to participate to the research of the reproduction of the panda, this is a privilege! The behavior of Huan Huan is promising. Yuan Zi, looks like it loses patience. We keep fingers crossed for it to work this year!

Follow the PANDAS TEAM
Le ZooParc, c’est aussi
The story of the pandas in Beauval
All news about our pandas

Team Pandas - ZooParc de Beauval

La Team Pandas

Un vieux proverbe chinois nous dit
« Ce n'est pas le but de la promenade qui est important mais les petits pas qui y mènent. »

La naissance d’un bébé panda est toujours une immense source de joie. Elle récompense les efforts de tous pour la préservation de l’espèce. Aujourd'hui, le panda est répertorié comme espèce vulnérable. Le chemin pour y arriver est parsemé d’espoirs, de doutes et surtout de grands moments d’émotions quand l’heureux événement arrive enfin. Ce serait alors une première pour le seul couple de pandas vivant en France au ZooParc de Beauval depuis 2012.

Avec une seule période de reproduction par an qui ne dure que 48 heures, les naissances chez les pandas sont très rares. Fort de l’expérience des années précédentes, Beauval a mis en place une équipe entièrement consacrée à Huan Huan et Yuan Zi. Tous ensemble, ils forment la « TEAM PANDAS » !

Pas à pas, tous nos spécialistes sont déjà en action. Quotidiennement, heure par heure : ils sont aux petits soins pour notre couple de pandas géants en veillant au respect de la nature et au bien-être de nos animaux. La belle et grande saga de nos pandas à Beauval continue avec la « TEAM PANDAS » pour une nouvelle et surprenante saison 2017. La « TEAM PANDAS » est déjà en action.

Découvrez tous les membres de la « TEAM PANDAS » !

Les acteurs principaux

Yuan Zi - Panda - ZooParc de Beauval
Yuan Zi
Panda géant, mâle

Né le 6 septembre 2008 à la base de Chengdu en Chine, il a le même âge que Huan Huan, 8 ans ! Yuan Zi, notre mâle panda, est "le fils de celle qui a une tête toute ronde". Le nom Yuan Yuan a été donné à sa mère car sa tête est très « Yuan », c’est-à-dire très « ronde », Zi signifiant « fils » en chinois. Yuan Zi le bien nommé n’a de cesse de se faire photographier. Bonne patte avec ses soigneurs et bon vivant, Yuan Zi mange 30 à 40kg de bambou par jour !

En savoir plus sur Yuan Zi

Huan Huan - Panda - ZooParc de Beauval
Huan Huan
Panda géant, femelle

Huan Huan est née le 10 août 2008 à la base de Chengdu en Chine. Comme clin d’œil aux Jeux Olympiques de Beijing, parmi les bébés du centre, 5 ont été nommés : Bei Bei, Jing Jing, Ying Ying et Ni Ni d’après la phrase d’accueil des JO : « Bei Jing Huan Ying Ni » qui signifie « Beijing est heureuse de vous souhaiter la bienvenue ». Huan Huan est l’un de ces 5 bébés et son nom signifie « bienvenue » et « grande joie ». Huan Huan notre femelle panda, est une sacrée vedette. Habituée des caméras, elle fait le bonheur des petits et des grands, à Beauval comme à l’écran !

En savoir plus sur Huan Huan

La Team Pandas - ZooParc de Beauval

Les autres acteurs

Rodolphe Delord - Directeur - ZooParc de Beauval
Rodolphe
Directeur général

Passionné d’animaux depuis sa plus tendre enfance, Rodolphe quitte à 16 ans les bancs de l'école pour rejoindre sa mère et la soutenir dans l'aventure Beauval. Bâtisseur, Rodolphe travaille à étendre le site pour accueillir une grande diversité animalière dont un couple de pandas géants. Il est également président de l'association Beauval Nature et de l’Association Française Des Parcs Zoologiques.

Une naissance de panda au ZooParc de Beauval serait un symbole fort. Cela récompenserait l’immense travail entreprit avec nos partenaires chinois sur la conservation de l’espèce. Ce serait une joie immense pour nous et nos équipes et surtout pour nos visiteurs qui attendent eux-aussi cette naissance !

Eric - Directeur de la conservation - ZooParc de Beauval
Eric
Directeur Sciences, Collection et Conservation

Ancien Directeur Zoologique du Zoo de Lisbonne, Eric est depuis 2008 responsable pour la gestion de la collection animalière du ZooParc de Beauval. Directeur de Conservation pour l’Association Beauval Nature, il œuvre pour de nombreux programmes de conservation dans le monde et notamment pour celui des pandas.

La naissance de bébés pandas à Beauval est le corollaire d’un programme commencé en 2005 et qui contribuera à la conservation de cette espèce. Toute naissance représente un espoir pour préserver cet animal unique pour les générations futures et qui est un symbole international de la conservation de la biodiversité.

Baptiste - Vétérinaire - ZooParc de Beauval
Baptiste
Directeur vétérinaire et Directeur de la Recherche

Diplômé de l’École Nationale Vétérinaire d'Alfort, Baptiste a rejoint l’aventure Beauval en 2004. Il dirige le secteur vétérinaire depuis 2014. Directeur de la Recherche pour l’association Beauval Nature, il est également vétérinaire conseil européen du programme d’élevage international du koala du Queensland et du Programme d’Élevage Européen (EEP) de la panthère de Perse.

Les dosages effectués durant la période de reproduction de la femelle panda sont encore rarissimes dans le monde mais apportent de nouvelles connaissances pour déterminer avec plus de précision s’il y a eu fécondation puis implantation. Cette année, les comparatifs avec toutes les données 2016 seront un atout précieux.

Antoine - Vétérinaire - ZooParc de Beauval
Antoine
Vétérinaire

Depuis 2014, Antoine exerce comme vétérinaire au ZooParc de Beauval. Il est diplômé de l’École Nationale Vétérinaire d’Alfort. Il est également vétérinaire conseil des Programmes d’Elevages Européens (EEP) du lémur noir et du grand koudou. Antoine assure aussi la mission de secrétaire de l’Association Francophone des Vétérinaires de Parcs Zoologiques.

C’est une chance de pouvoir travailler auprès de cette espèce présente dans seulement 5 institutions zoologiques en Europe ! Les naissances de pandas sont rarissimes et marque la vie professionnelle d’un vétérinaire.

Delphine - Soigneuse Animalière - ZooParc de Beauval
Delphine
Responsable secteur Pandas

En 2002, Delphine intègre le service animalier au secteur spectacle des otaries et des fauves. Après plusieurs années au secteur koalas, elle en devient la responsable. Delphine anime aujourd'hui une équipe de 7 personnes qui prennent soin d’une diversité d’espèces dont le couple de pandas.

Tous les jours nos animaux nous surprennent. On apprend énormément d'eux ! Avec les pandas, nous sommes fiers de participer au projet de conservation de cette espèce vulnérable.

Astrid - Soigneuse Animalière - ZooParc de Beauval
Astrid
Soigneuse Pandas

Après 3 ans d'école de médecine et une licence de biologie en écologie et évolution des populations, Astrid s'est orientée vers le monde animalier. Diplômée de l'école de soigneurs de Vendôme, elle a fait ses premiers pas en 2010 au secteur koalas de Beauval. Elle devient l'adjointe de Delphine en 2013.

J’aime travailler avec les pandas parce que c'est un animal complexe que l'on connaît encore peu. C’est motivant de partager avec ses confrères de différents parcs zoologiques européens, toujours dans l'objectif d'améliorer le quotidien des animaux et en particulier de cette espèce menacée.

Wang - - ZooParc de Beauval
Harry
Chercheur spécialisé dans la reproduction des pandas

Originaire de la province chinoise de Hubei, Harry est depuis 2008 chercheur en élevage et nutrition à la célèbre « Chengdu Research Base of Giant Panda ». Chaque année, il suit la période de reproduction des 30 femelles pandas du centre. Il intervient à Beauval pour apporter son expertise et ses précieux conseils à la Team Panda.

Je pense que le comportement de Huan Huan est très bon et l'interaction avec Yuan Zi est bonne. Dans mon métier, il faut être très précis car la femelle panda n'est fertile que quelques heures chaque année.

Sophie - Etudiante ethologue - ZooParc de Beauval
Sophie
Étudiante en Master 2 d'éthologie

Sophie est étudiante en master 2 d’éthologie appliquée à l'Université de Paris 13. Pour son mémoire universitaire, elle étudie le comportement de Huan Huan durant sa période de reproduction et de gestation. Sophie passe ses journées à répertorier les moindres faits et gestes des pandas.

Je suis très fière de participer à la recherche sur la reproduction du panda, c’est un privilège ! Le comportement de Huan Huan est encourageant. Yuan Zi quant à lui, a l'air de s'impatienter. On croise les doigts pour que cette année cela puisse fonctionner !

Retrouvez toute l’actu de la TEAM PANDAS
sur les réseaux !
Le ZooParc, c’est aussi
L'histoire des pandas à Beauval
Toute l'actu de nos pandas